Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

8 Interesting Facts About Diamonds

Diamonds have long been a symbol of love, beauty, and power. They are used in jewelry and are popular with almost everyone. In this blog article, you will learn about the different types of diamonds and other interesting facts that you may not know of.

1. Diamonds come in many different shapes, sizes, colors, and prices.

There are six main types of diamonds: Round, Princess Cut, Oval Cut (aka “Heart Shape”), Flawless Cut (aka “Jumbo Shape”), Two-Carat Weight (TCW), and Three-Carat Weight (3CT). Each diamond shape has its own unique characteristics that affect its price and how it looks. Here’s a breakdown of each type:

  • Round Diamonds: These are the most common type of diamond and look like doughnuts or balls. They’re easy to work with because they have a smooth surface that can be cut into any shape desired. Round diamonds tend to be less expensive than other diamond shapes but don’t always look the best on the ring finger because they can appear too blunt or rounded.
  • Princess Cut Diamonds: Princess cuts are similar to round diamonds except that the interior angles have been cut more sharply so that they have a stepped appearance. Like round diamonds, princess cuts can be cut into any shape but usually look better when mounted in a ring as a center stone.
  • Oval Cut Diamonds: Oval cuts are similar to princess cuts except that the corners have been rounded off. They have a more sophisticated look and are usually reserved for high-end rings because they can be more difficult to work with.
  • Flawless Cut Diamonds: Flawless cuts are the rarest type of diamond and are the only ones that come in a color other than white or yellow. They have a mirror-like finish and are often considered the ultimate diamond shape because they have no blemishes.
  • Two-Carat Weight (TCW): Two-carat weight diamonds are the smallest size available and are approximately the size of a small rock. They’re generally less expensive than other diamond sizes and don’t usually look as sparkly or beautiful as larger diamonds.
  • Three-Carat Weight (3CT): Three-carat weight diamonds are the largest size available and look like large rocks. Like two-carat weight diamonds, they’re more affordable than other diamond sizes but don’t usually look as beautiful or sparkly as bigger diamonds.

2. Diamonds are graded on a scale from D (no defects) to Z (very rare, almost perfect).

Each diamond is graded on a scale from D (no defects) to Z (very rare, almost perfect). The higher the grade, the better the diamond. For example, a diamond that’s graded a G is usually less expensive than a diamond that’s graded an E, but the G-grade diamond may have fewer blemishes or inclusions than the E-grade diamond.

3. Diamonds are measured in carats (cubic inches).

One carat is equal to 200 milligrams and is the standard unit of measurement for diamonds. A diamond that’s double-weighted (twice as heavy as a regular diamond) is measured in 2 carats, a triple-weighted diamond is measured in 3 carats, and so on.

4. Diamonds can be cut into any shape desired.

Most diamonds are cut into rounds or other shapes known as “standard cuts.” However, certain individuals, particularly those seeking engagement jewelry houston tx (or elsewhere), often opt for more unique shapes like princess cuts or oval cuts. This choice is made to achieve the most desired shape that perfectly complements individual styles.

5. Diamonds can be colorless, yellow, or brown.

Diamonds can be colorless, yellow, or brown. Brown diamonds are the most popular type and are typically the least expensive. They have a reddish tint and can range in color from nearly clear to a deep chocolate brown.

Yellow diamonds are slightly less common than brown diamonds and have a lighter yellow hue. They can range from a light golden yellow to a deep gold color.

6. Diamonds can be treated to increase their sparkle.

Some people treat their diamonds with a special coating called “diamond polish.” This process makes the diamond shine like new and can increase its value by hundreds of dollars. However, diamond polish is not permanent and must be reapplied periodically.

7. Diamonds can be produced artificially.

Diamonds can now be produced artificially in labs, and exhibit the same properties most of the time. A few commonly used synthetic diamonds include Cubic Zirconia and Moissonite, which have a variety of uses. Cubic zirconia is extensively used in jewellery, while Moissonite is used for abrasive machining processes such as grinding, honing, water-jet cutting and sandblasting. Now, it is even possible to turn cremated ashes to jewels, which many have done in memory of their loved ones. These come in different shapes and colours.

8. Diamonds are not perfect and can sometimes have defects.

Diamonds are not perfect and can sometimes have defects. Even the highest-quality diamonds have some small blemishes or inclusions that can diminish their shine. It’s important to be honest about any potential problems with a diamond before making a purchase so that you know what to expect.

When it comes to diamonds, you don’t have to be a diamond expert to know that some are more valuable than others. After reading this article, I hope you will have a better understanding of the different types of diamonds and be better equipped to make an informed decision when buying one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.